Geocaching Adventure

I thought a quick update was in dire need…

Last week I had the pleasure of going on a geocaching treasure hunt for the first time!

20141004-174756-64076635.jpg

Now if you’re as clueless as I was about what geocaching actually is – don’t worry because I’m going to give a quick breakdown.

Geocaching is when people leave a small container in a random place and tag a location nearby with a clue.

Inside some boxes are small toys or keepsakes which you swap for something of your own. There is also a notepad (and sometimes a pen) to record that you visited the geocache.

By downloading a geocaching app, you have access to all of the nearby locations, hints, comments and can also record successful or unsuccessful finds.

20141004-175237-64357489.jpg

This is an absolute brilliant way to get out and explore cost-free and I would recommend it anyone! I was completely stunned that I discovered it from an 8 year old.

We managed to find three geocaches in an hour in a half as well as stop for a picnic and have a woodland – whilst the little one gathered up a few treats along the way.

20141004-175553-64553638.jpg

20141004-175555-64555277.jpg

20141004-175551-64551917.jpg

I’ve heard that geocaching is a world-wide thing and that there are even geocaches hidden behind bricks in exotic locations and under seabeds. If I ever get the chance to travel, an international adventure is definitely a must!

I want to hear if anyone else has had any amazing geocaching adventures or come across any creative clues. Though my trip was mini, I loved every part of it.


Simply Speech

Leave a Reply

